1759 - Year of Victories

Royal Navy had 127 ships of the line and 285 other craft (total 412).

Admiral Hawke returned to Portsmouth after victory against the French at Quiberon Bay. (1759 is known as the “Year of Victories” – capture of Guadaloupe, Battle of Lagos and Quiberon Bay. The latter action ended serious naval effort by the French.

General Wolfe took Quebec and his body was returned to England at Portsmouth in February 1759).